GNA Mrs Oteng-Gyasi rallies tourists for ‘Year of Return’ GNA Vice President courts investors in India to invest in Africa GNA ‘Commitment is key to achieving excellence as a nurse’ AGP Mali : deux jumelles trouvent la mort dans un incendie provoqué par une bougie à Fougou AGP Labé : le parti NFD organise un atelier sur la recherche du premier emploi pour des collégiens et lycéens ANG Partido da Renovação Social e Madem-G15 aceitam resultados finais AGP Kindia : Fête de l’Indépendance/Le ministre de l’Energie et de l’Hydraulique annonce le démarrage prochain des chantiers Inforpress Taxa de inflação situa-se em 1,2% em Fevereiro de 2019 com preços a diminuírem 0,1% face a Janeiro Inforpress Santo Antão: Delegação da Universidade Rutgers (EUA) na ilha com cooperação com municípios na agenda Inforpress Paul/Desporto: Edilidade sensibiliza Governo para construção do Estádio Municipal

Tahiru Haruna emerges winner in 2018 K-Balm Armwrestling Challenge

  16 Avril      38        Sport (7418),


Accra, April 16, GNA – Tahiru Haruna, a member of the of the national Armwrestling team – Golden Arms, emerged winner in 91KG plus category in the 2018 K-Balm Armwrestling Championship over the weekend.

He overcame keen competition from his counterpart Randolph Welbeck, after some thrilling challenges in all weight categories.

Tahiru, who won two gold medals at last year’s Championships in Nigeria, proved to be the strongest arm as he wrestled his way past all athletes who competed in his category.

In the women’s category, Alberta Amponsah who is also part of the Golden Arms, also defeated her female counterpart Mary Aryeetey in the 80KG plus category.

Aryetey, exhibited phenomenon strength in their finals encounter but was out muscled by the former Olympian who competed for Ghana at the London 2012 games in the Weightlifting.

Others winners in the challenge includes Grace Mintah also emerged winner in the 70-80KG category with new prodigy Nii Amugi Isaac also toppling all competitors in the’

59KG – 70KG category. Edward Asamoah aslo won gold in the 71KG – 90KG category.

Respective athlete who annexed gold, silver and medals prizes all went home with some goodies from the sponsors, which includes cash prizes.

The championship was attended Mr. Vicent Sowah Odotei, Member of Parliament for the La Dadekotopon constituency.

Below is the list of winners after the chmapionship;


Alberta Amponsah – 1st

Mary Aryeetey       – 2nd

70KG – 80KG;

Grace Mintah     – 1st

Mary Zutah        – 2nd


59KG – 70KG;

Nii Amugi Isaac  – 1st

Adeitey Sowah   –  2nd

71KG  –  90KG;

Edward Asamoah  – 1st

Chiboy Bike           2nd

91KG plus;

Tahiru Haruna     –  1st

Randolph Welbeck – 2nd


Dans la même catégorie