NAN New York Consulate beg Nigerians to claim over 1,000 uncollected E-Passports NAN Buhari receives report of Marwa’s Presidential Committee on Drug Abuse NAN Aisha Buhari unveils Int’l Mascot for 2020 world para-powerlifting championship NAN Aisha Buhari unveils Int’l Mascot for 2020 world para-powerlifting championship GNA Network of Women Leaders of African News Agencies inaugurated GNA Nations should join hands to eliminate learning poverty GNA GSA working to remove bottlenecks in export trade GNA Incorporate mental healthcare into primary healthcare- Psychologist MAP Climate Chance à Accra : plus de 200 municipalités de 36 pays adhèrent à la Convention des maires en Afrique subsaharienne LINA Rural Women Appeal For More Empowerment; Embark On Projects In Two Counties

Nigeria’s 23-man squad AFCON touch down in Egypt

  11 Juin      0        Sport (2563),


Accra, June 10, GNA – The Super Eagles of Nigeria have touched down in Ismailia, Egypt for the second phase of their camp ahead of the 2019 African Cup of Nations in Egypt.
The first phase of their preparation begun at home in Asaba, Delta State, where they played a warm-up game against Zimbabwe.
The team departed for the second phase of the camp after their 0-0 draw against Zimbabwe, after which the final squad was named.
Super Eagles Coach Gernot Rohr announced the final list of 23 players to play in the AFCON with Leicester City forward, Kelechi Iheanacho and Rotherham United’s Semi Ajayi the only two casualties from the preliminary squad of 25 players.
Majority of the players that featured on the global stage at the 2018 World Cup in Russia are part of the squad.
It includes the likes of captain John Mikel Obi, Ahmed Musa, William Troost-Ekong, Kenneth Omeruo, Wilfred Ndidi, Alex Iwobi, Oghenekaro Etebo and Leon Balogun.
In-form Villarreal winger Samuel Chukwueze and fellow under-17 World Cup winner Victor Osimhen are both included and will get a chance to make their first tournament appearances at senior level.
Meanwhile, in the second phase of the training camp, Nigeria will play a final friendly game with Senegal on June 16.
The three-time champions would play in Group B in the port City of Alexandria, alongside Guinea, Madagascar and Burundi.
Nigeria’s opening match would be against Burundi on 22 June at the Alexandria Stadium, Alexandria.

Nigeria’s 23-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Katsina United); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (Rizespor, Turkey); William Ekong (Udinese, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany).

Midfielders: John Mikel Obi (Middlesbrough, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel).

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi, Belgium); Moses Simon (Levante, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Shanghai Shenhua, China); Alexander Iwobi (Arsenal, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjylland, Denmark); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal, Spain).

Dans la même catégorie