- FAAPA ENG - http://www.faapa.info/en -

Methodist Church induct eight lay chairmen into office

Accra- The Presiding Bishop of the Methodist Church, Most Reverend (Rev) Dr Paul Kwabena Boafo has inducted into office eight elected diocesan lay chairmen at an induction service at the Koforidua Wesley Cathedral.
Those inducted for Dioceses include, Nana Kofi Otu Esson, Cape Coast, Ms Agatha Nana Ama Ennin Osei, Accra, Mr Isaac Castro Bosomtwe, Sekondi, Mr Jacob Emmanuel Eshun, Winneba and Mr Albert Opoku Addai for Koforidua.
The rest are Mr Paa Kwasi Boison, Akyem Oda, Mr Alfred Sakyi, Tema and Mr Kwame Adu-Darko for Nkawkaw.
Preaching the sermon for the day, former Presiding Bishop of the Church, Most Rev Titus Awortwe Pratt reminded the lay chairmen that they were to assist the Bishops of their diocese and not to run a parallel line of administration with them.
He charged the lay chairmen to read the constitution of the church to enable them know their roles.
Most Rev Awortwe-Pratt charged the lay chairmen to make good use of the various professionals and talents in the church to support its growth.
He urged the church members to continuously pray for the newly inducted lay chairmen to faithfully fulfil their mandate.
Most Rev Awortwe-Pratt urged the spouses and family members of the lay chairmen to support them, adding that most of the time they would not be at home.
He advised the Bishops to develop a listening ears to the lay chairmen in their dioceses.