NAN Nigeria ‘ll emerge stronger from current challenges- Abdusalami LINA EU Mission Says Oct. 10 Polls ‘Test For Liberia’s Democracy’ LINA Liberia Validates National Maritime Security Strategy LINA WAEC Boss Says ‘Gov’t WASSCE Fees Payment Has Increased Candidates Participation’ NAN Ex-IPCR DG seeks deepening of China-Nigeria cultural diplomacy NAN Tinubu gives Nigerians in U.S. “booster” for success GNA BRICS: An alternative, not a competition GNA Traders experience revenue increment after participating in Compete Ghana programme GNA Foodstuff Home scales up operations with new Yango fleet

 Mawuko Afadzinu elected First Vice President of Ghana Olympic Committee

  19 Décembre      43        Sport (7443),


Accra, Dec. 18, GNA – Mr. Mawuko Afadznu, President of the Ghana Table Tennis Federation, has been elected First Vice-President of the Ghana Olympic Committee.
He polled 38 valid votes cast to beat his contender, Mr. Mohammed Adjei Sowah, former Metropolitan Chief Executive for Accra and former Greater Accra Regional Chairman for the Ghana Swimming Association who managed to poll 19 votes.
The election was held at The Trust Emporium on Saturday, December 17 as one of the agenda for the 2022 congress of the Olympic Movement in Ghana.
The first Vice President position became vacant after the demise of Mr Paul Kodjo Atchoe, former President of Ghana Volleyball Association early this year.
According to Article 9(6) of the GOC’s constitution “Any vacancy on the Board shall be filled by election of a new member (for the remainder of the term) at the next Congress.
Mr. Afadzinu has previously served as a Board Member of the GOC between 2017 and 2021.
During this period, he was the Chairman of the Sponsorship and Marketing subcommittee and Ghana’s Chef de Mission for the 2017 Commonwealth Youth Games in Bahamas.
He contested for first vice presidential slot during the 2021 GOC elections but lost to the late Paul Atchoe.
The current board as it stands now is Ben Nunoo Mensah (President), Mawuko Afadzinu (first vice), Frederick Otu Lartey (second vice), Mohammed Mahadi (third vice), Mohammed Sahnoon Esq (Secretary General), Jerry Ahmed Shaib (Deputy Secretary General), Frederick Acheampong (Treasurer), Isaac Aboagye Duah (Deputy Treasurer).
Other members of the current are Michael Aggrey, George Okoe Lamptey, Albert Frimpong, Emmanuel Tetteh, Delphina Quaye, Abdul Hayye, Dr.Bella Bello Bitugo, Rev. Emmanuel Dzani Nikoi, Michael Nkow Ayeh and Emmanuel O. Asare.

Dans la même catégorie