NAN UNICEF laments 39,805 children in Anambra yet to receive Pentavalent vaccine NAN FG,IFAD distribute agricultural inputs to rice, cassava farmers in MAP Statement by the Royal Office NAN 10 countries for 2023 West, Central Africa challenge Trophy in Lagos NAN UN urges collaborative approach to tackling migrant rights violations NAN Climate Action: Removal of subsidy reduces Nigeria’s consumption by 33% – Minister NAN Tinubu committed to inclusive, honest, transparent, accountable governance system – APC NAN 2027 AFCON: FG delegation to present Nigeria’s hosting bid NAN FCCPC summons coy over alleged consumer arrest for negative product review NAN Tinubu approves payment for 12 attack helicopters for army aviation – COAS

CBN revokes licences of 132 MfBs, others

  24 Mai      20        Economy (14206), Finance (707),


Abuja, May 24, 2023 (NAN) The Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) has announced revocation of the licences of 132 Microfinance Banks, three Finance Companies and four Primary Mortgage Banks across the country.

The revocation is contained in a gazetted circular signed by the CBN Governor, Mr Godwin Emefiele, in Abuja.

According to Emefiele, the Microfinance Banks, Finance Companies and Primary Mortgage Banks listed in the gazette ”ceased to carry on, in Nigeria, the type of business for which their licences were issued for a continuous period of 6 months”.

He said that they also failed to fulfil or comply with the conditions subject to which their licences were granted.

“(They) failed to comply with the obligations imposed upon them by the CBN in accordance with the provisions of Banks and Other Financial Institutions Act (BOFIA) 2020, Act No. 5.

“In exercise of the powers conferred on the CBN under Section 12 of BOFIA 2020, Act No.5, I hereby revoke the licences of the Microfinance Banks, Finance Companies and Primary Mortgage Banks stated,” Emefiele said.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the Finance Companies affected are HHL Invest & Trust Limited, TFS Finance Limited, and Treasures & Trust Limited.

The Primary Mortgage Banks affected are Resort Savings & Loans, Safetrust Mortgage Bank, and Adamawa Savings & Loans and Kogi Savings & Loans.

Some of the 132 MfBs include Atlas Microfinance Bank, Bluewhales Microfinance Bank, Everest Microfinance Bank, Igangan Microfinance Bank and Mainsail Microfinance Bank.

Others are Merit Microfinance Bank, Minna Microfinance Bank, Musharaka Microfinance Bank, Nopov Microfinance Bank, and Ohon Microfinance Bank.

Dans la même catégorie